UEFA Champions League to Review Rules in Wake of Julian Alvarez Penalty Controversy
In a statement, UEFA confirmed that the player managed to make contact with the ball using...
In a statement, UEFA confirmed that the player managed to make contact with the ball using his standing foot before executing the kick, although the contact was minimal.

"Under the current rule, the VAR had to call the referee signalling that the goal should be disallowed."
However, European football's governing body said it would hold talks with the sport's lawmakers regarding the rule on double touches.
"UEFA will enter discussions with FIFA and IFAB to determine whether the rule should be reviewed in cases where a double touch is clearly unintentional," it added.
Simeone said he wanted to believe the officials got the penalty decision right.
"I've never seen a penalty where they've called the VAR, but well, they would have seen that he touched it, I want to believe, I want to believe they saw he touched it."
Advertisement
The coach asked members of the media during his press conference to raise their hand if they had seen a replay in which it was clear Alvarez had touched the ball twice.
Listen to the latest songs, only on JioSaavn.com
"Raise your hand, anyone who saw Julian touch it twice, who is going to raise their hand? Nobody has raised their hand," shouted Simeone.
(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by staff and is published from a syndicated feed.)